The Center for Innovation welcomes donations, grants, and other types of support for our programs and research. The Center cannot accept donations, grants, or other types of support that seek to limit or restrict our research or work. All financial supporters of the Center agree to give their funds as unrestricted gifts or restricted for particular areas of study, but with no right to review or control the results, direction, or publication of the research.*

The following list identifies all grants, contracts, and other sources of private or corporate funding for the Center received since Academic Year 2015-2016. No single person or corporate donor accounts for more than 25% of the Center’s annual budget. The majority of the Center’s funding comes from the University of California San Francisco, College of Law, charitable foundations, and court awards.

Donations to Startup Legal Garage indicated by (SLG).

Donor Fiscal Year(s) Gift Amount
The Laura & John Arnold Foundation 2023-2025 $1,509,016
The Commonwealth Fund 2022-2025 $277,436
The Laura & John Arnold Foundation 2022-2023 $1,091,016
The Commonwealth Fund 2022-2023 $258,417
Economic Security Project 2022-2023 $40,000
Jewish Community Foundation of Southern Arizona 2022 $150,000
Wilson Sonsini (SLG) 2022-2023 $100,000
Tipping Point Fund for Impact Investing
2022-2023 $90,000
Vern Norviel (SLG) 2021-2022 $75,000
Center for American Progress 2022 $50,000
Wells Fargo Bank Foundation (SLG) 2022-2023 $10,000
The Laura & John Arnold Foundation 2020-2021 $1,087,251
The Commonwealth Fund 2021 $169,446
Joseph Cotchett 2020-2021 $87,100
Tipping Point Fund for Impact Investing
2020-2021 $89,925
Browning Charitable Trust (SLG) 2021-2022 $10,000
Center for American Progress 2021 $50,000
The Laura & John Arnold Foundation 2018-2019 $652,120
National Science Foundation 2017-2018 $387,324
Hackers/Founders 2017 $60,000
The Honorable Al Knoll (SLG) 2017 $25,217
Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich, & Rosati (SLG) 2017 $6,000

Donors Who Have Made Contributions Under $5,000

  • Bakers Botts LLP
  • Bozevic, Field, & Francis LLP
  • The Chip Robertson Fund
  • Cooley LLP
  • Frank Busch (Kerr & Wagstaffe LLP)
  • Glen Van Ligten (Gunderson Dettmer LLP)
  • Hannah Stitt
  • Chris Holland
  • Aswin Gunasekar
  • Hanson Bridgett LLP
  • Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • University Chicago Medical School

Our work is made possible because of this funding, and we are deeply grateful to our supporters for their contributions. For any questions related to the Center’s funding or if you would like to make a donation, please contact Professor Robin Feldman at

*Beginning in 2016, coinciding with the publication of the Open Letter on Ethical Norms in Intellectual Property Scholarship in the Harvard Journal of Law and Technology, the Center has followed the protocols outlined within the article to remain transparent about its funding.